Tags

, , , ,


 

In an effort to discipline my stubborn combination skin, I have been taking care of my skin since I was about 13. My mother played the biggest role in keeping my complexion nice and glowing, and to this day, she buys products for me. She taught me how to clean, moisturize and maintain my skin, and she sent me to facials. I hated them, growing up as a teenager, and I still do 🙂 but they are necessary in maintaining one’s skin. The frequency usually depends on my schedule, personal life and other external factors. It is generally recommended to go monthly.

I am also a big advocate of natural remedies. Paying hundreds of dollars on one creme alone isn’t always worth it. I started using Mario Badescu skin-care some time ago and I got hooked. He was not only Romanian, but he created some inexpensive wonders for women’s skin. It is very surprising that products used by celebrities like Jennifer Aniston, Gwyneth Paltrow, Kate Moss, Naomi Campbell and Charlize Theron, just to name a few, are so affordable and at easy reach. As for the salon, I like it for two reasons:

  • their estheticians are very thorough, besides the moderate price
  • after your facial, you get a skin-consultation and you are matched with the products that best match your skin

So, based on my skin, I am using the below products:

I ALWAYS use a cleanser/gel to clean my face, regardless if I have make-up on or not; I find it especially important in the morning. I also ALWAYS use toner; I feel naked if I don’t. I end with the aloe moisturizer, with SPF protection. Once a week I use a clay mask, which acts as a facial-at-home and a ginseng mask, which acts agains the dryness created by the winter. As summer approaches, I will switch to different products. I am lucky to not have any fine lines yet, however, I do use MB hyaluronic eye-cream.

Apart from Mario Badescu, I also use green tea, and sea algae moisturizers, as well as thermal water products. I recommend Vichy, their toner and quick make-up removers are simply divine.

What are some of your beauty secrets?